~ Daughter of Smoke and Bone ~

“We dreamed together of the world remade.”

~ Daughter of Smoke and Bone ~

by Laini Taylor

|Goodreads|

Page Count: 418 (Hardcover)

Rating: 4.5/5 Stars

Daughter of Smoke and Bone is a trilogy that I’ve been meaning to start for about the past two years. I’ve seen them at Barnes and Noble and my library but for some reason have always put them off. But I’m glad that I finally got to book one! It didn’t exactly live up to my expectations but it was pretty close. Laini Taylor is definitely a master-woman with words and Dear LORD can she write. I started book two yesterday and it’s pretty good so far, just a tad bit slow for the first 100 pages, but it’s picking up now and it’s hard to put down. So I’m expecting great things from the rest of this trilogy since it’s already pretty great.


Overview:

DOSAB starts off with a young art student in Prague, by the name of Karou. Her hair is blue, her arms are tatted up and she’s all around an awesome Main Character. Yet the crazy thing with Karou is, is that ever since she was little she has drawn these cartoon demon things. But to Karou, they are real and to her best friend Zuzana, they are just a way for Karou to get her artisticness out. And these demons that she draws, are not just fiction, they are her real family who she works for and who she grew up with. She pretty much lives and works in the hidden world of demons and angels. In this world, the demons are known as chimaera, and the angels are known as seraphim, and they’re not even close to being friends. So life get’s a tad bit hectic for Karou when an angel appears out of nowhere, and especially since she had no idea they existed in the first place. Y’all I’m trying so hard to be vague so I don’t spoil anything but it just makes it sound more complicated than it really is. So yeah, the angel comes and makes life horrible. The rest of the book is pretty much about the journey that Karou and Akiva (the angel in this book) go through. It’s crazy interesting and also dark, really really dark. But I loved it so much.

The Writing and the World:

As I already said, Laini Taylor is an absolute goddess at writing. She is crazy amazing and just making beautiful sentences and paragraphs and she’s just AMAZING okay. The world is pretty much our world, but she has created a demonic land as well as the angel land. AND wow the descriptions she uses are beautiful and so original. But anyways, she also gives us flashbacks of how the demons live in their world and their political system and how their country works. And she also does that for the angels as well, so it’s super awesome seeing all these new worlds. I also think I’ve used the word “world” about 500 times in this paragraph oml. Aha I’m done here.

What Threw Me Off:

The only reason this wasn’t a 5 star was because I was a little creeped out. The chimaera are, of course, the demons. BUT they are like half animal, half human creatures and the first thing that popped into my mind was “furries.” I just can’t deal with the furrie stuff, it scares me and just no. AND for those of you who don’t know, Furries are a group of people who have fetishes in like acting like animals, I guess is how to say it lol. It’s pretty much like beastiality and that’s a no no in my book. So yeah, the chimaera reminded me too much of the furrie stuff and I put me off so bad.

Quotes:

“Until a few days ago, humans had been little more than legend to him, and now here he was in their world. It was like stepping into the pages of a book—a book alive with color and fragrance, filth and chaos—and the blue-haired girl moved through it all like a fairy through a story, the light treating her differently than it did others, the air seeming to gather around her like held breath. As if this whole place were a story about her.”

“Have you ever asked yourself, do monsters make war, or does war make monsters?”

“Wishes are false. Hope is true. Hope makes its own magic.”

“And under it all, a crippled twist of thought he held prisoner in the shadows of his mind, so warped he didn’t recognize it for what it was: a hope. A very small hope. And at its center: Karou.”

“Your soul sings to mine. My soul is yours, and it always will be, in any world. No matter what happens—” His voice cracked, and he took a breath. “I need you to remember that I love you.”


So yup that was a little all over the place, but it was kind of difficult to just express my thoughts. I really did love the book though, and I am crazily excited to finish the trilogy! Karou is crazy awesome and is one of the best YA heroines in YA in my own opinion. But, if you’ve read this trilogy, then I’d love to hear your thoughts (please no spoilers for the next two installments though.)

Anyways! I hope y’all have a great day and Happy Reading!

~ Solo

One thought on “~ Daughter of Smoke and Bone ~

Leave a Reply

