~ Warcross ~

“Every locked door has a key.”

~ Warcross ~

by Marie Lu

Page Count: 416 (Kindle Edition) 

Rating: 5/5 Stars

So, it has almost been a week since I’ve finished this amazing book and I’ll still in awe. Marie Lu is one of my all-time favorite authors, and man did she completely hit out of the park on this one! This is very unlike anything I’ve read before (even though I’ve heard it being compared to “Ready Player One”, I can’t justify that since I haven’t read RPO.) But Warcross is quite honestly, a nerds’ wish come true. It’s so action packed and intense but it also makes you think and then … VIRTUAL REALITY. Virtual Reality is so cool and I love it. That whole aspect completely won me over. Marie Lu has created such a WONDERFUL world (even though it’s set in Tokyo and America, her vision for them in the future is pretty cool.) The review today will be pretty vague, just because I received an ARC of this and it doesn’t come out until October! But anyways, let’s get on with the review!


Overview:

In our futuristic world, Emika Chen is our teenage bounty hunter. On the brink of being evicted from her apartment, she is working hard to try and make up the multiple grand that she owes the landlord. And of course, she inevitably fails (because if she got her money then it wouldn’t be very long of a story, to be honest, lol.) But in this world, there is a wild virtual reality game, in which pretty much all the world plays, called Warcross. All players have access to Warcross through a pair of glasses called the NeuroLink. It’s insanely cool and I wish we had this in our world. But anyways, on the night that Emika’s life changes, is the night of the Warcross Championship Game. It’s the most hyped game/event of the year and everyone is watching. AHA, so Emika accidentally glitches into the games, into the server, and every. single. person. sees. her. But yeah, it’s pretty much frowned upon, and you could serve some time behind the bars. THEN, to make the anxiety even worse, she gets a call from Mr. Hideo Tanaka, the creator, and mastermind of Warcross. But things don’t exactly go exactly like she expects them to, and before she knows it she is whisked off to Tokyo to meet Hideo. From here, her life is completely turned upside down and the rest of the book is A THRILL RIDE. So yeah, that’s pretty much all I can say without it being spoilery so the overview ends here!

The Writing and World:

Marie Lu’s writing definitely pulled this along so well. She is amazing at writing empowering female characters who are bad to the bone, but who also have insecurities and worries. Marie writes crazy amazing worlds as well like really, her vividness and description is astounding. I don’t think any other author could have pulled this off like Marie Lu did. Her style as an author really pulled this world off and I bet it’s going to be insanely popular!

Quotes: 

“You search the sky,” he says. I turn my eyes down and laugh. “It’s just a habit. I’ve only seen the sky full of stars when Dad used to take me on road trips through the countryside. I’ve looked for the constellations ever since then.”

“They believe that objects have souls. The more love you put into one, the more beautiful it becomes.”

“Beauty can make people forgive a thousand cruelties.”

** quotes are not final**


Well, that’s pretty much all I can spill folks about this book! It’s definitely on my top 3 favorite books of the year light (right behind Strange the Dreamer.) I loved every single second of it and I need book two ASAP.  pre–order it on Amazon and Barnes Noble and I hope you love it when it finally comes out!

It is also available for pre–order on Amazon and Barnes & Noble! I recommend this one so much to everyone if you’re looking for a fun book this year to just take your worries off of life. And if you do end up buying it and reading it, I pray that you love it!

I hope y’all have a great day and Happy Reading!

~ Solo

4 thoughts on “~ Warcross ~

  1. Anushka H. says:

    I CANNOT wait for this 😅😅 Totally jealous of everyone who has received arcs 😅 Your review was awesome and is in fact, the first review I’ve read of this week. You’ve got me very excited for this one!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

