~ Books without Romance ~

Hello again peeps! Today’s “Top Five Wednesday” post is about books that have little to no romance. This is going to be a difficult one because I usually read books that have a heavy feature on romance LOL. My contemporary shelf is quite at large and for some reason, a book just seems lost without some kind of romance. But that’s just my thoughts! Anyways, let’s get this going!


201707041956881070

~ This Savage Song ~

by Victoria Schwab

| Goodreads |

A lot of Victoria’s books don’t have a large focus on romance, but she does throw it in there. But since this is the first book in the duology, there was pretty much no romance. What I love about Victoria’s writing, is she writes her characters so well that a romance isn’t really needed. But she grounds them to the world and she introduces us to their struggles before she brings characters together. Which is crazy cool and also makes me ship the characters 10x more!


20170704349989484

~ Challenger Deep ~

by Neal Schusterman

| Goodreads |

Whenever I think of this book, I just think “wow.” This one was so crazy interesting but I was also so lost throughout the whole thing it felt like. This one focuses on a young boys mental struggles with coping with life. It is about his life with schizophrenia and it’s told through like a pirate magic story. I haven’t read it in a few years but I definitely remember there being no romance at all. It was just a story about this young boy’s life, that just so happens to be sad and confusing. I definitely do need to reread it though!


201707041063121992

~ Scythe ~

by Neal Schusterman

| Goodreads |

So I’m not sure if Neal isn’t a fan of romance or what? But he doesn’t seem to put romance into his novels (which is a nice breath of fresh air.) As much as I love shipping and reading about couples, it is nice to take a break and to just read a nice action packed book. And that is pretty much what Scythe is. The two characters don’t have any romantic notions happen between them (but seriously you can’t help but ship them, seriously lol) and it’s such a great book! Crazy interesting and epic, and I definitely recommend this one!


201707042127885273

~ The Book Thief ~

by Markus Zusak

| Goodreads |

If I recall correctly, there was like a tad bit of romance in this book. Just a slight bit that didn’t affect the story at all. BUT, I don’t recommend this if you don’t like heartbreak. Because it’s just so CRAZY SAD. I figured out what was going to happen pretty early on in the story but it still hurts when it hits. So, I do recommend this if you enjoy sad books and also if you love historical fiction! I’m not the biggest fan of historical fiction, but this one was just so good!


201707041350624992

~ Salt to the Sea ~

by Ruta Sepetys

| Goodreads |

This book right here is a masterpiece. It’s another historical fiction novel set during the time of World War Two and it’s just so crazy good. It’s so insanely sad and heartbreaking but also interesting to see how each different nation was treated in this war. Ruta just crafted it so amazingly that she didn’t even need romance in this book because you’re so focused on the characters and where they are going in their life. I recommend this one 100% to everyone, it’s so crazy good!


This actually wasn’t near as hard as expected! And I seriously think I say that every single time I think something is going to be difficult AHA wow. But yes seriously, check these books outs if you need a romance break because they’re definitely worth it! Psh, they’re worth just reading anyways because they’re so crazy good. If you have any more books that don’t revolve around romance, then I’d love to hear about them!!

Anyways, I hope y’all have a great day and Happy Reading!

~ Solo

2 thoughts on “~ Books without Romance ~

Leave a Reply

