~ Favorite “Unlikeable” Protagonists ~

Happy Wednesday Folks! This weeks tag on “Top Five Wednesdays” is about Protagonists that everyone hated, but you enjoyed. And I’m going to utterly fail at this. BECAUSE I don’t know any protagonists that everyone hates. I know protagonists that I don’t like that everyone seems to love but that’s not the prompt Yeah okay, I’m just going to go with characters that people hate, but that I love. BUT I AM CONFLICTED. Ugh anyways, let’s see how much of a failure this turns out to be ahaha!


1.

~ Celaena Sardothien from Throne of Glass ~

by Sarah J. Maas

Now, this is the easiest character to choose because I know lots of people who HATE Celaena. They loathe her entire being and I don’t understand why … She has gone through hell and back and was broken and is healing. Celaena is a great main character in my opinion, and sure she does get slightly annoying at times, but she is still worth reading about.


2. 

~ Lila Bard from Shades of Magic ~

by Victoria Schwab

I know a lot of people really think Lila is too extra and really hate her but like she’s my wife so, please stop roasting her. She just needs love and all she has in her book-life is some crackpot weirdo named Kell. But anyways, Lila is bae and is beautiful and leave my wife alone. Thanks.


3. 

~ Rowan Whitethorn from Throne of Glass ~

by Sarah J. Maas

Oh look, a character that isn’t female who a lot of readers hate lol. I really didn’t enjoy Rowan as a character in Heir of Fire but he grew on me. A lot. Pretty much a lot of folks see him as abusive and hate SJM for romanticizing abusive relationships but umm yeah no. I didn’t see this as an abusive relationship at all, but ya know, the haters are going to hate.


4. 

~ Feyre Archeron from A Court of Thorns and Roses ~

by Sarah J. Maas

I’ve heard time and time again that Feyre is one of the dumbest characters in YA. I don’t believe that at all. Feyre is strong and is living life through the horrors that have haunted her past. She is, in my opinion, a great character for YA/NA and she is just awesome. I don’t get how people can hate her … oh also fun fact, I heard someone say that her PTSD isn’t real PTSD and that SJM is making a mockery of real PTSD and that just irks me to no end. Everyone is picky about EVERYTHING.


5.

~ Tris Prior from Divergent ~

by Veronica Roth

So with Tris, I’m not sure if people actually hate Tris or Veronica because of what happened to her as a character. I know a lot of people saw her as a fake character who was just there for loving on Four. I actually thought she was a great character though, who was strong and was making her way through life. She was experiencing new things and it was great to see how she moved with the flow of her new crazy life.


Y’all don’t understand how hard this was. I was so desperate I almost put Bella Swan as one just because I couldn’t think of anyone that everyone hated. Don’t get me wrong, I like Bella, but she’s just really annoying at times lolol. But anyways, I’m mentally exhausted from trying to think of characters that people hate, and honestly, I don’t understand why anyone hates them, with the exception of Celaena. She was annoying in book one but after that she was amazing.

Anyways, what are some characters that you love but it seems like everyone is against them? I’d love to hear about them!

I hope you all have a great day and happy reading!

~ Solo

One thought on “~ Favorite “Unlikeable” Protagonists ~

Leave a Reply

