~ Our Dark Duet ~

“Monsters,” he said slowly, “all want the same thing: to feed. They are united by that common goal, while you are all divided by your morals and your pride. What do I think? I think that if you cannot come together, you cannot win.”

~ Our Dark Duet ~

by Victoria Schwab

Page Count: 510 (Hardcover)

Rating: 5/5 Stars

Y’all, I am shooketh by this book. SHOOKETH. “Our Dark Duet” is the ending of the “Monsters of Verity” duology by Victoria Schwab, and it was EVERYTHING. There was so much action and evilness and honestly I AM going to ramble on forever about the same things LOLOL. But I do just want to get across that this duology is DARK. Dark and amazing, I myself will read anything that’s super dark and evil because that stuff is just my own personal taste. This series is also super crazily fast paced, so it’s pretty much near impossible to put it down for long periods of time. ALSO THE WRITING THO?? Victoria is a writing Goddess. She is PHeNOMENAL. Absolutely phenomenal. BUT lets get on with this review why don’t we?


Review:

Our Dark Duet starts off 6 months after the events that occurred in This Savage Song. Kate Harker, is now residing in Prosperity, to where she is a monster hunter. She is trying to escape her Verity identity, and is making a new life for herself with new friends and pretty much a new everything. But while she is in Prosperity, there is a terrible horror that occurs by the hands of a new monster. This new monster wrecks havoc among Prosperity, causing humans to turn in on themselves and each other, killing themselves while the monster feeds off of their brutality. Yet Prosperity isn’t enough for this monster, so it moves on to Verity, taking Kate back to her home place, to the place she didn’t want to see ever again.

August is still in Verity, but now he is one of the captains of FTF. He has power and is helping in the fight of killing Sinners. Augusts life has been pretty mild, nothing too extreme that is until an old enemy shows up. Making his life and the FTF’s life, a living hell. Now honestly, that’s all I can say because the rest are spoilers and I don’t want to put spoilers in this review aha!

Kate Harker:

I LOVE KATE. Just another one of my bookish wives, (i have like 5 oml ahaha) but Kate is amazing. Ms. Schwab has a way of writing such well rounded characters who are full of emotions but still kick butt. She makes them seem like REAL humans, and thats something so many authors lack when trying to make characters. I feel like they try to hard on making their characters butt kickers, but don’t back up the actions. They’re pretty much all bark and no bite. BUT KATE ISN’T LIKE THAT. She is killing monsters left and right and is still going on with life I think Kate does have PTSD too, from the trauma that happened in the last book. But that’s just what I think, but I’m not sure if it’s canon. ANYWAYS, just know that Kate Harker makes this book 10000x better with her amazingness and just her being herself is 11/10.

August Flynn:

Stop hurting this child Ms. Schwab. He’s too pure for you to HURT HIM LIKE THIS OKAY. Man, does August go through some stuff in this book and it’s heart wrenching. BUT its definitely worth it in the end. August just shines in this series and his character development is ON POINT. Also, this doesn’t have anything to do with the book, but does anyone else see August as a Japanese descent or Chinese?? Is that canon or is just my mind? I need some help on that y’all lol! But I can’t say a lot about him because he’s such an easy character to spoil. OH OH I will say this, I love the way he totally WRECKS with that violin. All of his violin scenes were on point.

Music and Writing:

These two aspects, are the reason I really LOVE LOVE this duology. I myself, am really into music, always have been and I always will be. Music is like the only thing I cherish more than books (well God is #1 but that’s obvious.) Music is just something I can relate to SO easily and Victoria just does it so well. I don’t know if she has musical experience or if she is a musician but she really plays it perfectly into the story line. AND her writing is just 100/10. It’s so good and I cant explain enough to you how AMAZING her writing is. She just pulls you into the story and just murders you with her words. I think Victoria may have pushed Sarah J. Maas down a notch on my author scale because she’s THAT good. Yeah definitely, Victoria is on my top 3 author list now and I’m not even apologizing. Just please, READ this (unless you don’t like dark things) because it’s definitely WORTH IT!

Quotes:

( pg. 30 ) “She knew a secret: there were two kinds of monsters, the kind that hunted the streets and the kind that lived in your head. She could fight the first, but the second was more dangerous. It was always, always, always a step ahead.”

( pg. 60 ) “You truly are a monster now.”

( pg. 89 ) “Names are powerful. But a movement shouldn’t be built on, around, or for a single person. What happens when that person is gone? Does the movement stop existing? A legacy shouldn’t be a limitation.”

( pg. 100 ) “she is
already lit
so full 
of grief and anger
of guilt and fear
Who deserves to pay?
it asks her heart
and her heart 
answers
everyone,
every one
and it knows
she is
like it
a thing
of limitless
potential –
she will burn
like a sun
among stars
she will make is solid
she will make it real
she will -“

( pg. 119 ) “Our purpose is not to bring peace. It is to bestow penance. Why shouldn’t they suffer for their sins”

( pg. 121 ) “Violence begets violence, and monstrous acts make monsters.”

( pg. 293 ) “I’m willing to walk in darkness if it keeps humans in the light.”

( pg. 345 ) “I don’t know who I am, and who I’m not, I don’t know who I’m supposed to be, and I miss who I was; I miss it every day, Kate, but there’s no place for that August anymore. No place for the version of me who wanted to go to school, and have a life, and feel human, because this world doesn’t need that August. It needs someone else.”

( pg. 434 ) “Maybe there is more to us than murder.”

( pg. 510 ) “For worse. And for better. It wasn’t easy. The world was complicated. Life was hard. And so often, living hurt. So make it worth the pain.”


Y’all I am still shook this book. It was so GOOD. The pacing was amazing and I enjoyed every single page of this book. I don’t think any book will ever be able to compare to this ending. It was so perfect and what the story needed and JUST THANK YOU VICTORIA FOR THIS MARVELOUS PIECE OF WORK.

If you’ve read This Savage Song, I’d love to know what you think of it! Or if you’ve been wondering about reading this, hopefully this helped you out.

Hope you all have a great day and Happy Reading!

~ Solo

9 thoughts on “~ Our Dark Duet ~

      1. The Bookish King says:

        oH MY LORD those are the two books i havent read from her LOLOL i have Vicious coming to me in the mail because its supposed to be amazing (but its V.E.S so i expect amazingness) but yeah the first SoM book is definitely the weakest link in the series!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

