Reviews

~ Thanks for the Trouble ~

” There is such a thing as perfect sadness. I know, because I’ve seen it.”

~ Thanks for the Trouble ~

by Tommy Wallach

Page Count: 276 (Hardcover)

Rating: 4.5/5 Stars

Now I really don’t know how to review this one. It’s super weird and leaves me super conflicted after reading it (this was my third time) and I’m still conflicted. This is such a weird novel, but it’s also crazily addictive. It’s one of those books that’s pretty much IMPOSSIBLE to review because its so complicated but I’ll try to make something out of it.

Anyways, I love this book because it’s really unrealistic (which I love) but it also has some realistic aspects and wow that whole sentence didn’t make sense LOLOL. Just to warn you, this review makes little to no sense because I just can’t sum my words up about it. SO sorry in advance aha!


Review:

Thanks for the Trouble starts off with a young latino boy, Parker Santé, in a hotel. He’s doing his occupation of stealing valuables from rich people, because what else could a teenager possibly do in his spare time. But Parker ends up meeting a cute, silvered hair teenage girl. And this girl is LOADED with money, so of course he steals from her purse that she leaves laying on the table. Then he realizes that he left his notebook behind. This notebook is precious because Parker doesn’t speak, he actually cannot physically speak because he has a mental illness that sprung after the death of his father. So, he writes down everything he wants to say in this notebook, and on his way back to grab his notebook, she notices him (she went back for her purse) and notices she got jacked. He ends up confessing and then they hit it off and go on a crazy adventure together. The rest of the story is seriously just them going on an adventure, but this is definitely a crazy ride, since it takes place over a few days aha. There’s so many lessons to learn from this book though, and its such an easy read and pretty much impossible to put down.

What I Love:

Yeah so as I explained above, I can’t explain why I love this book. I just can’t. It’s just one of those books thats so unique and weird that you can’t help but love it. BUT also, this book won’t be for a lot of people, I can tell you that much. It’s so thought provoking though, and as I said like 100 times, it’s conflicting. BECAUSE the ending leaves you thinking about the events of the book and you’re just like “Was it real?” or “Was it all fake?” HONESTLY, I finished a few days ago and I still can’t stop thinking about it. Okay, okay, lets be real, I haven’t been able to stop thinking about it since the first time I read it, last year aha. OH, I do want to say that Tommy Wallach (the author) is one of my most favorite authors of all time. He writes so fluidly and beautifully, like he’s an auto-buy author for me. His other novel, We All Looked Up, is one of the craziest, most amazing books, I’ve ever read. He writes in such way that you can’t help but THINK after finishing his novels. OKAY I’ve rambled on enough.

Quotes:

( pg. 32 ) “I’ve never understood people who take their coffee black. Isn’t life already bitter enough” That’s what I like about it. Life isn’t sugarcoated. Why should coffee be?

( pg. 51 ) “He told me that friends were overrated, because the only person you could ever really count on was yourself.”

( pg. 122 ) “Our biggest tragedies are still just ours.”

( pg. 141 ) “You can’t predicate your happiness on someone else’s happiness. That way lies madness.”

( pg. 154 ) “That was a love story” Zelda asked. I think so, I wrote. “But it was so sad. Why are all your stories so sad?” Sad stories are the best ones. Everyone knows that.

( pg. 236 ) “There’s a word in Portuguese that my dad wrote about in one of his book: saudade. It’s the sadness you feel for something that isn’t gone yet, but it will be. The sadness of lost causes. The sadness of being alive.”


Well that review was absolutely terrible, I’m sorry. But it felt great to get some words out aha! I’m going to start putting the author, title, and page count on my reviews now, because I realized that my reviews are so vague when it comes to the ACTUAL book. Also, I see every other blogger putting important information about the book on the beginning of their reviews, so I figured I needed to start doing that. Hopefully, I’ll have some more reviews and stuff coming since SCHOOL IS OUT AND IT’S TIME TO READ! AGH! I’m so excited (if you can’t tell) But yeah this summer I will hopefully have a lot more posts!

Hope you all have a great rest of your day and Happy Reading!

~ Solo

Leave a Reply

