~ Roses of May ~

“How do you put yourself back together when the pieces permanently lost are the only reasons anyone’s looking at you?”

3.5/5 STARS

I honestly feel like I have drowned in the River of Disappointment. I fell right in and just kept on sinking to the point where there was no hope for life and I ended up just dying.

Yeah, thats pretty much how this book made me feel. AND NO, not dying in a good way.

This is just such a let down, and it doesn’t even begin to compare to its amazing predecessor, The Butterfly Garden.  I didn’t know that the author was writing another book to the series and when I saw it on Netgalley, I was beyond stoked. BUT this book doesn’t feature the same cast as The Butterfly Garden, so yeah that was a disappointment right off the bat. It doesn’t follow the same characters or the same plot line, so it felt like a random book. And also, the killer in this novel was so plainly obvious. And did I mention I was let down? No, okay well I was.

Now The Butterfly Garden is by far, one of the most memorable and creepiest books i’ve ever read. It isn’t for the faint of heart or weak of stomach because MAN, THAT ONE IS DISTURBING. It made me not want to ever step foot outside again because it was that TERRIFYING. SO I came into this expecting something just as terrifying and umm yeah no I didn’t get that. BUT I also do think that Ms. Hutchison was kind of pressured into writing this one because of how popular Butterfly Garden got. This one whole series is supposed to be a trilogy, and if Book 3 doesn’t feature the Butterflies getting revenge on their captor then I’ll be sorely disappointed. BUT anyways, on with this very short review.

 
Plot:
Now with Roses of May, we do have the same trio of detectives from the FBI. And they do still keep in contact with Inara and Bliss from The Butterfly Garden, but none of them are what this novel is about. We meet a new girl named Priya, who has been friends with Eddison and Victor since her sister was murdered a few years back. Now, her sisters killer is back in full swing, since he only murders once a year in springtime. So pretty much the whole setup for this novel is finding out who killed Priya’s sister. 300 pages of finding the killer who is honestly right in front your face the whole time. There isn’t much to say about the plot besides the killer. This book is split between three perspectives: the detectives, Priya, and the Killer. AND the killer’s perspective is the BEST. It’s written in second person and it takes you through everyone that he’s killed. It’s kind of sick and twisted being in his head but it’s also really enjoyable! But for some reason, the Killer thinks it’s his mandate from God to kill all the “unpure” girls, or girls who are in danger of being “unpure.” He’s weird okay, just weird. AND when he kills them, he leaves them naked and adorned with a crown of flowers. So that set-up was interesting with him, but otherwise I was just bored 96.8% of the time.

Writing:
Now Ms. Hutchison’s writing has improved 10000% person. She has such an amazing way of describing some scenes, and has a kind of twisted way of describing the murder scenes. I think the shining point in this novel would have to be the fact that her writing improved tenfold. Her writing was quite honestly, the only reason I continued with the book because it pulls you in and makes you read. But seriously, ask anyone and they’ll you that I was super ready to quit this like as soon as I started it AHAHA

A Couple of Good Quotes:

“There’s more comfort in realizing we want to stay, that this is a good thing we’re allowed to have. That we’re allowed to be happy. I’m still working on that, but in the meantime? We’re allowed to be broken. We don’t have to feel ashamed of that.”

“Some people stay broken, others put themselves back together with all the sharp bits showing.”

“We love her; that means that it isn’t possible for us to leave her behind.”

BUT with all that said, I want to thank the publisher for providing me with a copy of this, via Netgalley, for review! I’ll be waiting for Book 3 and hoping that it redeems this one! And if you’ve read The Butterfly Garden, then I’d love to hear what you thought of it! As well as Roses of May (if you’ve read it!)

Have a great day everyone!

~ Solo

One thought on “~ Roses of May ~

  1. Pingback: ~ May Wrap Up ~

Leave a Reply

