Reviews

~ A Court of Wings and Ruin ~

“We’re all broken,” Mor said. “In our own ways-in places no one might see.”

4.5/5 STARS

Welcome, to the most dramatic review you will probably ever read from me ( I listened to the High School Musical soundtrack while writing this review and I hate myself and this also took two and half hours to write so please, forgive me)

Now yes, if you look above you may see that glowing word that says “stars” that SJM would probably make a beautiful quote about. And this book just didn’t deserve 5 stars because me and SJM got some problems between us because of this book. This is roughly either a 4 star or 4.5 star book, but I’m going with 4.5 because I’m nice and yeah … that’s about it, i’m nice. LOL

I now take this time to say, that this is also, quite honestly, the most gorgeous book to ever grace my bookshelf because IT SPARKLES IN THE SUN. My book is a VAMPIRE from Forks, Washington and I have been blessed to have it gracing my shelves. Oh, I also want to take this time to thank Charlie Bowater for giving us this beautiful cover dress, and for all the fanart that blesses this wonderful community.

I also, take this time, to say that book wasn’t even close to the level of perfection that is A Court of Mist and Fury. ACOMAF blew me away on all levels and was beautiful and amazing and DID I SAY BEAUTIFUL AND AMAZING? But this one was slow built and didn’t pick up until HALF WAY THROUGH WHICH WAS TORTUROUS, okay UTTER TORTURE BECAUSE NOTHING WAS HAPPENING. Did I enjoy the banter between my lovely High Lady and the rest of the Night Court? Of course I did. But I was also waiting for something to happen and nothing immensely interesting happened until about halfway through. THEN IT ALL WENT DOWN HILL.

This book features:
~ lots of blood
~ crazy character development
~ tons of diversity (not that much but it’s tons for SJM)
~ beautiful new ships
~ BACKSTABBING
~ winged beauties
~ magic
~ stupid idiots
~ an over abundance of smut that ruined a lot of things
~ an over use of the words: mate, male, snarling, purring, roar, and the phrase “vulgar gesture”
~ ALL THE FEELS
~ MORE FEELS WHEN YOU THINK THEYRE DONE
~ a beautiful ending
~ feelings for characters that makes me mad at SJM for doing this to me
~ MORE FEELS

but:

~ WELCOME TO WHERE I DWELVE INTO THIS PLOT ~
Now this book picks up right where ACOMAF left off (if you didn’t know that then what rock are you living under? LOL.) And Feyre is messing stuff up. SHE IS RUINING TAMLIN OKAY. RUINING. Ummm is that all I can say without giving up spoilers? SERIOUSLY THAT SO ANNOYING. NO, this won’t be super spoilery just mild stuff that is super easy to figure out by yourself. But umm okay, well this is obvious, but she gets back to the Night Court. And this is where it gets somewhat boring. REALLY BORING. Because nothing is happening. War is brewing, blah blah blah, Rhys is happy, Feyre is happy, everyone is happy. EXCEPT NESTA. SHE IS SUPER SALTY BUT ANYWAYS. And pretty much the whole middle is just build up till the war, and yes theres war, that’s also obvious. ALSO, there’s a lot more Lucien in this one and I’m happy about that! SO THATS ALL I CAN SAY WITHOUT BEING SPOILERY. SO if you don’t plan on reading spoilers then please avert your eyes and go farther down to where I speak of my problems with the book (features one spoiler lololol.)

~ Welcome to the Spoiler Section of this Review ~
This is by far the most interesting part of the review to be honest. BECAUSE SPOILERS ARE MY LIFE OKAY. I live for them (I read all the ACOWAR spoilers before reading the book because I hate myself.) But anyways, I just wanted to discuss some things regarding the next installment to the series. SO after the war, everyone lives (of course, and if you didn’t know that then why are you here on this part? GO READ THE BOOK.) WHO DO YOU THINK WILL NARARATE THE NEXT BOOKS? i’m really hoping for Nesta and Cassian because those two are my life. THEY ARE THE BEST SHIP TO EVER HAPPEN. ALSO THOUGH, I love Azriel and Elain, I ship them more than Elucian. I’m sorry, but they just mix better than Elucian. I ALSO REALLY LOVE AMRIAN (is that their ship name? well hopefully it is lol) But I really hope the next book features more Vassa and more of Jurian (THAT PLOST TWIST THOUGH WHERE HE WAS A GOOD GUY, I WAS HONESTLY SHOOK.) The problem I see happening in the next books though, is the Mortal Queens wrecking havoc because they’re stupid idiots. And Nesta and Cassian are going to go and murder them and everyone will be happy and have children. I CAN DREAM, DON’T RUIN THIS POOR BOYS DREAM. ALSO just want to say im super salty about the Suriel dying because it almost made me cry. And I’m super excited that the Weaver ate Ianthe because she making me really aggravated and I wanted to murder her. ALSO SHOOK BY THE FACT THAT HELION IS LUCIENS DAD LIKE WHAT? Okay i’m done LOL.

~ Lets Talk About Tamlin the Tool ~
Look. Tamlin had me shook in this book. ABSOLUTELY SHOOK. His character had me just screaming because wow SJM sure knows how to bring in the feels. Also, this features spoilers from ACOWAR so back away if you haven’t read it. Now, when Tam comes into the scene at the High Lord meeting I was salty. SO SALTY LIKE YOU DON’T EVEN KNOW. Because he had to go up in there being all rude and sassy and shaming Feyre for being with Rhys, and EXCUSE ME BUT DON’T MESS WITH THEM. And I love how he got put into his place by Feyre, I did. But then he wants to bring up how he fed her family and stuff and just didn’t appreciate that because it brought the feels. And then again, when Feyre goes to save Elain. AND THIS IDIOT POPS OUT OF THE FOREST TRYING TO SAVE FEYRE LIKE WHY YOU MESSING WITH ME LIKE THIS? I did not ask for those feels for the TOOL. And then again, at the end when Rhys dies (that phrase still kills me) and he comes and tells Feyre to be happy. EXCUSE ME? WHO GAVE YOU PERMISSION SARAH J MAAS. WHO?! NOT ME THATS FOR SURE. But know this, me and Tamlin the Tool now have a love/hate relationship. Because if Feyre was willing to forgive him, then I guess so am I.

~ Lets Talk About my High Lady and my High Lord ~
Feyre and Rhys pulled through in this book. They really did. Even if there were some spots where I wanted to punch Rhys right in his stupid little face. But I really love what happened with them in the end (don’t worry I wont say) and just how everything came together so beautifully. Feyre is by far, the most amazing heroine to grace the YA world. She has dealt so beautifully with her PTSD, and she grew and grew and grew and became this beautiful woman. And Feyre, I’m proud of you my High Lady. AND RHYSAND. This little bat just killed me. He is so loyal to his family and loves them so much and just wow. I’ve never met such a great male character in any book. He is so great, seriously he is. I love you, my dear High Lord and High Lady.

~ Lets Talk About my Mate, Nesta Archeron ~
I’m pretty sure I felt the mate bond snap with this one. I stumbled and my heart clenched and the magic spoke to me and was like “Nesta, this fierce beautiful lady, is your mate.” Nesta deserves the award for best character development ever. SHE DOES BECAUSE SHE PULLED THROUGH SO HARD AND IM SO IMPRESSED AND I LOVE HER TO PIECES. sorry Cass, but she’s mine.

~ Lets Talk About my Other Mate, Amren ~
WOW two mates you may say. Yes I have two mates. The Cauldron has looked upon me and blessed me with two mates. I know, what a beautiful event. Amren makes this book 100x better. I swear to you that she does. Now Amren is going to be spoilery. I guess, but I just want to talk about how SJM incorporated the Pass Over scene from the Bible with her. So, Amren is an old testement Angel (SJM confirmed this) and when she took her full form I almost died with excitement. And SJM mentions that when Amren walks the streets at night that the people of Velaris mark their doorposts in blood and I LOVED THIS. Because it’s one of my favorite Bible stories ever and I loved it.

~ Lets Talk About Elain ~
Elain was weird. I just say she’s weird and I was really worried for her. I really thought she was going slightly insane because she was just rambling some nonsense. But anyways, she pulled through as well with just being amazing and also that thing she did in the battlefield. BUT ALSO CAN I SAY I SHIP HER WITH AZRIEL SO HARD? He just needs happiness in his life and I really think Elain is what he needs. SJM MAKE THIS A THING PLEASE.

~ Lets Talk About Azriel and Cassian ~
These two are my favorite Illyrians. They win the award for the best. They are selfless and brave and everything anyone could want in a friend. I love them so much, I really do. There isn’t much to say except that they deserve the world.

~ Let’s Talk About Mor ~
I am slightly furious at what SJM did with Mor. She didn’t seem to be a strong presence in the book. And I was upset about that and I’m upset about one thing in particular. AND this is the spoilery section in which I wanted to talk about. So, as many of people already know, SJM promised her readers some LGBT reps in this book. Cool, go SJM for trying to bring some diversity into her novels for once. And she really upped it up with giving characters skin color besides pale and white (thank the Cauldron.) She also brought some diversity in with the High Lord sexuality and with character sexuality in general. But I just feel like she made Mor a fake character by making her gay. I really do. She made Mor’s story seem so fake and un-authentic. It seemed pushed and non-realistic. BUT look I’m happy for the people who felt good about this, I am. But i’m sorry that it just seemed fake because SJM didn’t drop no hints in the previous books that this was going to happen. IT JUST HAPPENED OUT OF NOWHERE AND IM SLIGHTLY UPSET. Maybe if she dropped some hints, then I wouldn’t be so upset. And I feel like SJM just jumped on the Diversity band wagon by looking up “how to come out to your friends” on google. Mor’s story the generic coming out story and YOU CANNOT TELL ME THAT FOR 500 YEARS MOR KEPT THIS TO HERSELF. 500 is just an unrealistic number for this, like no Mor, just no. MY POOR BABY MOR HAS BEEN DONE WRONG Y’ALL. SHE HAS BEEN DONE WRONG. AND I am salty, so salty about this right now. I’m not mad because she tried to bring diversity into the book, im upset because it seemed so fake and so poorly done. THIS IS WHY WE DON’T PRESSURE AUTHORS TO ADD THESE THINGS INTO BOOKS BECAUSE IT NEVER ENDS WELL.

~ Lets Cry About These Quotes ~
( pg. 46 ) “The stars winked into existence, dim and small above the blazing fires. I watched them through the long hours of celebrating, and could have sworn that they kept me company, my silent and stalwart friends.”

( pg. 80 ) “My goal was bigger than revenge. My purpose greater than personal retribution.”

( pg. 114 ) “‘I want to see her. Just once. Just – to know.’ ‘To know what?’ He hitched my damp cloak higher around us. ‘If she is worth fighting for.'”

( pg. 154 ) “When I looked ahead, I found Cassian staring back at Nesta as well. I wondered why no one had yet mentioned what now shone in Cassian’s eyes as he gazed at my sister. The sorrow. And the longing.”

( pg. 156 ) “Elain had always been gentle and sweet-and I had considered it a different sort of strength. A better strength. To look at the hardness of the world and choose, over and over, to love, to be kind. She had always been so full of light. Perhaps that was why she now kept all the curtain open. To fill the void that existed where all of that light had once been. And now nothing remained.”

( pg. 197 ) “You and this city helped wake me up-helped bring me back to life. I will fight with everything I have too, Rhys. Everything.”

( pg. 200 ) “As High Lady, you are mine. And Azriel’s, and Mor’s and Amren’s. You belong to all of us, and we belong to you.”

( pg. 229 ) “I slid my arms around his waist, gripping tightly as he pressed a silent kiss to my hair, reminding myself over and over that we were out. We had survived. Never again-never again would I let someone hurt him like that. Hurt my sisters like that. Never again.”

( pg. 368 ) “War would linger with me long after it had ended, some invisible scar that would perhaps fade, but never wholly vanish. But for my home, for Prythian and the human territory and so many others … i would clean my blades, and wash the blood from my skin. And I would do it again and again and again.”

( pg. 394 ) “I had been terrified once, in Tamlin’s court, of being given a crown. Had dreaded it. And I supposed that I indeed had never fretted over it when it came to Rhys. As if some small part of me had always known that this was where I was meant to be: at his side, as his equal. His queen.”

( pg. 394 ) “Rhys stepped off the stairs and took my hand. Night Triumphant- and the Stars Eternal. If he was the sweet, terrifying darkness, I was the glittering light that only his shadows could make clear.”

( pg. 402 ) “I see all of you, Rhys. And there is not one part that I do not love with everything that I am.”

( pg. 503 ) “We’re all broken,” Mor said. “In our own ways-in places no one might see.”

( pg. 505 ) “I’m grateful. To have you at my side. I don’t know if I ever told you that-how grateful I am to have you stand with me.”

( pg. 530 ) “Only you can decide what breaks you, Cursebreaker. Only you.”

( pg. 565 ) “Remember that you are a wolf. And you cannot be caged.”

( pg. 607 ) “It’s a rare person to face who they truly are and not run from it-not be broken by it.”

( pg. 612 ) “I would no have known that it is the family you make, not the one you are born into, that matters. I would not have known what it is to truly hope, even when the world tells you to despair. I would never have learned that light can be found in even the darkest of hells. That kindness can thrive even amongst cruelty.”

( pg. 612 ) “I would have waited five hundred more years for you. A thousand years. And if this was all the time we were allowed to have … The wait was worth it.”

( pg. 652 ) “Cassian said softly, brushing away the tear that streaked down her face, ‘I will find you again in the next world-the next life. And we will have that time. I promise.”

( pg. 658 ) “For it has been a gift. This time-with you. With all of you. It has been a gift.”

( pg. 695 ) “‘Until then,’ I said to my brothers, slinging my arms around their shoulders and leading them back to the sitting room. i looked ahead, toward that laugh, that light-and that vision of the future Feyre had shown me, more beautiful than anything I could have ever wished for-anything I had wished for, on those long-ago, solitary nights with only the stars for company. A dream still unanswered-but not forever. ‘Until then, we enjoy every heartbeat of it.'”

Anyways, I was not as impressed with this one as I was expecting to be but it was still an amazing story nonetheless. If you haven’t read this series then I highly suggest it because it’s so good and the character development is worth it. But if you have read it, then I’d love to hear what you thought about it down in the comments below!

Hope you all have a great week!

~ Solo

Goodreads Review Here.

20 thoughts on “~ A Court of Wings and Ruin ~

  1. Agree with you regarding Mor. Mor said she prefers Female, but like both sex in bed?
    That was just a little confusing for me. And yes, I feel like Sarah just threw that in out of nowhere just to make the readers happy, it wasn’t well developed at all.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think maybe SJM was trying to go with Bi and not full Lesbian? But she just didn’t portray is realistically at all. I honestly think she just did it because some readers were complaining about there not being enough diversity. And it just bit everyone in the butt.

      Like

    1. Thank you so much Kevin! It was definitely a great book but nothing can compare to ACOMAF, I think it’s her best book to ever be released to be honest!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. LOL at least one of us is excited about Chaol’s novel. Im excited to read about Nesryn and Yerene, but not Chaol.

        Like

      1. You do realize you have to read through to Empire of Storms to understand the Chaol book otherwise itll be spoilery?πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

