Reviews

~ Strange The Dreamer ~

“Dreams were a different matter. He was Strange the dreamer. This was him realm, and there were no limits here.”

5/5 Stars☆

So far the best book I’ve read this year.

This review was honestly a struggle. A really hard struggle. It was such a spectacular book that it was hard to review it. It was amazing.

Hello, Laini Taylor! You are a genius. A mastermind. An amazing storyteller. One of the best writers ever. I can also say that Strange the Dreamer is the best fantasy novel I’ve read this year (sorry Caraval.) THIS WAS JUST SO GOOD!

The first half of this review will be spoiler free! (I’ll warn when the spoilers are coming!)

Plot:
In this mysterious world, there once was a city named Weep. No one has heard anything of them, or what has happened to them. But one boy, named Lazlo Strange, has always been obsessed and fascinated with this city. He has learned the language of this lost city, he knows pretty much everything of everything regarding Weep. Lazlo works as a librarian, so he has all the time in the world to research Weep. And everything changes when a group of travelers appear in his city. The leader is known as the Godslayer, for obvious reasons, and he is looking for a group of diverse people. To come and adventure for Weep.
That’s honestly all I can say without giving away spoilers because it’s such a complex story, with so many ins and outs. JUST READ IT OKAY. Not going to lie though, it’s very slow, but it’s so good that it doesn’t even matter.

Lazlo Strange:
This child. This child right here one of the best characters to ever grace the Young Adult World. Lazlo is one of the best male characters in the YA World. He is a male character who isn’t worried about his looks. He isn’t wrapped up in his muscles or his physical features. He isn’t a little lust package, and he isn’t worried about finding his soul mate. He has a life of reading, of books. He is an actual human being and has insecurities. Thank God for a male character who isn’t completely cocky and thinks he is the Bomb.Com.

Thyon Goldenson Nero:
I actually really liked him as a character. He was different, and really reminded me a lot of Holland from ADSOM. Thyon has a really rough beginning to his life, and is so wrapped up in trying to make something of himself that it hurts your soul. He isn’t in the book very much, but maybe we’ll get more of him in the next book!!!

***Incoming! Spoilers Ahead***
That was all I could say without as being a spoiler so lets get into the real good stuff. I start off with minor spoilers though so don’t expect a lot of heavy stuff right off the bat.

Sarai:
MY POOR CHILD. I wasn’t expecting to have a point of view from a godspawn. I really wasn’t. BUT I AM SO GLAD THAT WE GOT ONE. Sarai is such a well developed character, and is so different! At first she seemed very mysterious, and I thought her power was a lot worse than Laini was making it out to be. Sarai is one of the best parts of this story, really she is. I can honestly say that I’m no longer afraid of moths, and every time I see one i’ll think of Sarai. *cries ugly tears*

Godslayer a.k.a Eril-Fane:
He is such a well rounded character! I wasn’t expecting to like him as much as I did, but oops. Laini does such a good job at making the “bad guys” seem like “good guys” at the same time. I don’t understand how her writing is so good, especially at making all the characters seem like main characters and not just side characters. Eril-Fane was so mysterious at first, and seemed totally chill. But then you get a little into who he is as a person and WOW. I was so surprised to like him so much, even if he is somewhat crazy.

Spoiler Plot (Mostly the Ending):
Now I want to start off with Sarai and her family. I loved Ruby, Sparrow, and Feral. More well rounded characters who have so much depth. I feel like I say that so much LOL. But honestly, these secondary characters could be considered main characters. I loved that Sarai had such a close relationship with them, and yet she wasn’t afraid to do what she wanted to do with her life. BUT YOU KNOW WHO I HATE? MINYA. She can rot in the deepest pits of hell for all I care. Minya is a horrid character who is so irksome.
BUT THAT PART WITH THE GODSLAYER BEING SARAI’S DAD?? That was so insane. So insane and I loved it.
Pretty much all I wanted to say that was spoilerish ahaha. WAIT NO. That ending though. I knew that Lazlo was a god. I knew it. I was so excited when it happened that I almost threw my book. ALMOST. And then when he fixed the monster thing and rode it up to Minya. I was so PUMPED. I am not happy about Sarai dying though. EVEN THOUGH IT WAS AT THE BEGINNING OF THE BOOK?!?!?! They foreshadowed it and just ugh, I had to go back and reread the last 20 pages like 3 times. I just couldn’t handle it. I NEED BOOK 2 NOW.

Quotes (Page number and Spoilers Marked) :

(10) “These visions of freedom and plenty bewitched him. Certainly, they distracted from spiritual contemplation, but in the same way that the sight of a shooting star distracts from the ache of an empty belly. They marked his first consideration that there might be other ways of living than the one he knew. Better, sweeter ways.”

(15) “Every step deeper bewitched him further, and deeper he did go, from room to room as though guided by instinct, down secret stairs to a sublevel where dust lay thick on books undisturbed for years. He disturbed them. It seemed to him that he awoke them, and they awoke him.”

(69) “Here is a great man, and also a good one, though few men are ever both.”

(112) “Lazlo was every bit the dreamer he had always been, if not more. He might have left his books behind, but he carried all his stories with him, out of the glave-lit nooks of the library and into landscapes far more fit for them.”

(115) “You’re a storyteller. Dream up something wild and improbable,” she pleaded. “Something beautiful and full of monster.”
“Beautiful and full of monster?”
“All the best stories are.”

(135) “And that’s how you go on. You lay laughter over the dark parts. The more dark parts, the more you have to laugh. With defiance, with abandon, with hysteria, anyway you can.”

(211) “The function of hate, as Sarai saw it, was to stamp out compassion – to close a door in one’s own self and forget it was ever there. If you had hate, then you could see suffering – and cause it – and feel nothing except perhaps a sordid vindication.”

(302 – Minor) “She was part of the dream.
The faranji was dreaming Sarai. He was dreaming her, and … it was not a nightmare.”

(352) “And so Grief and Shame abided in adjoining rooms with the door shut between them, holding their pain in their arms instead of each other.”

(372) “Good people do all the things bad people do, Lazlo. It’s just that when they do them, they call it justice.”

(380 – Minor) “No,” he said, smiling. “I think you’re a fairy tale. I think you’re magical, and brave, and exquisite. And.. ” His voice grew bashful. Only in a dream could he be so bold and speak such words. “I hope you’ll let me be in your story.”

(460) “All of this is ours, even the infinity.”

(480 – Major) “Until a few days ago, Sari could hardly have said what there was to live for, but now her hearts were full of reasons. They were full and heavy and burdened with fearsome urgency to live – because of Lazlo, and the world they built when their minds touched, and the belief, in spite of everything, that they could make it real. If only the other would let them.”

(516 – Major) “He was a god, and she was a ghost. A page had turned. A new story was beginning. You had only to look at Lazlo to know it would be brilliant.
And Sarai could not be in it.”

(528 – Major) “Lazlo had loves Sarai as a dream, and he would love her as a ghost as well.”

Okay, reliving these quotes was painful. MY HEART.

Anyways, SOLO IS OUT.

Goodreads Review Here:

2 thoughts on “~ Strange The Dreamer ~

Leave a Reply

